Skip to main content

Dr Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky

  • Senior Lecturer
  • NHMRC CDF Research Fellow
School of Natural Sciences, Griffith University,
Nathan Campus, 170 Kessels Road, Nathan, QLD 4111, Australia


Dr Muhammad J. A. Shiddiky is a senior lecturer and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) CDF Fellow in the School of  Environment and Science at Griffith University. He obtained his Ph.D. from Pusan National University, South Korea in 2007. Following his Ph.D. work, he was a postdoctoral fellow at Monash University (Australia) and Australia Research Council (ARC) DECRA Fellow at the University of Queensland (Australia). Prior to joining Griffith, he was an Associate Group Leader in the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN) at The University of Queensland. His research career has been dedicated to understanding microfluidics, electrochemistry and surface chemistry based phenomenon for the developments of diagnostic methods and devices that enable disease biomarkers in patients to be measuredCurrently he is involved in developing functional nanomaterial based portable devices for diagnosing, measuring, and treating cancer, infectious, and tropical diseases.

He is well known in the microfluidics, electrochemistry and biosensing community for his contributions to the field, especially for the development of microfluidics and electrochemistry based sensing technologies for molecular and cellular biomarkers analysis. He has published over 100 high impact papers on topics in biosensors, applied  electrochemistry, and molecular diagnostics. He is the recipient of 2012 ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA), 2015 NHMRC Career Development Fellowship, 2010 UQ Postdoctoral Research Fellowship,  2011 UQ Early Career Researcher Award, and the Graduate Student Award for PhD research excellence (from Pusan National University, South Korea). “




Pusan National University, Busan, South Korea


Shahjalal University of Science and Technology, Sylhet, Bangladesh

BSc (Hons)

Shahjalal University of Science and Technology, Sylhet, Bangladesh

Awards & Prizes